ON TOP OF A BRIDGE



ÜBER DAS ALBUM


„On top of a bridge“ ist der Name meines ersten Soloalbums unter dem Namen PR. Dieses möchte ich im Frühjahr 2017 offiziell veröffentlichen. Die Musikrichtung nenne ich "Progressive Dub Rock".

 

„On top of a bridge“ begann als eine bunte Mischung meiner Gedanken, Ideen, Fragen, Emotionen und Erfahrungen der letzten Jahre. Es besteht aus verschiedenen älteren Songs, die ich zwischen ca. 2007 und 2013 geschrieben und bisher nie aufgenommen habe. Diese überarbeite ich, arrangiere sie neu und setze sie so um, wie ich sie im Jahr 2017 hören möchte. Bis auf das Schlagzeug spiele ich alle Instrumente selbst und produziere das Album auch eigenhändig, damit es genau so klingt, wie ich es mir vorstelle.

 

Die Aufnahmen sollen gemeinsam mit einem umfangreichen Foto-Booklet veröffentlicht werden, das von der Künstlerin Sarah Ludes gestaltet wird. Dieses Booklet wird die Songs, Texte, Themen und Emotionen ergänzen, erweitern und interpretieren und damit zu einem Teil eines interdisziplinären Gesamtkunstwerks.

 

Seit über einem Jahr arbeite ich bereits an diesem Album. In dieser Zeit sind die 13 sehr unterschiedlichen Songs - die ich in unterschiedlichen Abschnitten meines Lebens geschrieben habe - zu einem Konzeptalbum zusammengewachsen. Das Album beschäftigt sich mit Depression, die mein ganzes Leben auf verschiedene Arten und Weisen beeinflusst hat. Ausgehend von einem Punkt, an dem es nichts zu gewinnen und nichts zu verlieren gibt - on top of a bridge - betrachtet es die Aufs und Abs des Mensch-Seins. Die Reise führt tiefer und tiefer in meine Gedanken und Gefühle hinein, entlang von Verzweiflung und Hoffnung, Glauben und Glaubensverlust, Schmerz und Erlösung, Sinn und Bedeutungslosigkeit, Ignoranz und Leidenschaft, Humor und Hass, Zerstörung und Schönheit. Es handelt von den großen und den trivialen, den persönlichen und den politischen Fragen des Lebens und davon, warum wir diese stellen.


SONGS


00. What I'm living for (2009)

01. Waiting (2012-2013)

02. I fall (2011)

03. What do you want from me? (2013)

04. Why are you here? (2012)

05. Keep us away (2011)

06. A life to smile (2012)

07. Just another day (2009)

08. Sunken bridges (2012)

09. Fear & love (2013)

10. I hate (2007)

11. After the storm (2011)

12. Mist & black mud (2016)


Credits


All songs written and arranged by PR

Cello, keys, e-bass, percussion & vocals - PR

Drums - David Rittel

Recording, mixing & production - PR

Artwork - Sarah Ludes

 

Recorded and produced in Cologne & Bonn, 2015-2017

Release: Spring of 2017

ON TOP OF A BRIDGE



About


„On top of a bridge“ is the name of my first solo album under the name PR. I will release this in the spring of 2017. Its musical style can be described as "progressive dub rock".

 

„On top of a bridge“ began as a colorful mix of my thoughts, ideas, questions, emotions, and experiences in the last few years. It consists of various older songs I had written between 2007 and 2013 but hadn’t recorded up until now. I revised, arranged, and realized them in the way I would like to hear them today, in 2017. Aside from the drums, I will play all the instruments myself and produce the album on my own.

 

The recordings are intended to be released in combination with an extensive photo booklet, designed by the artist Sarah Ludes. This booklet will interpret and complement the songs, lyrics, topics and emotions visually in order to form an interdisciplinary work of art.

 

While working on this album for more than a year, those 13 different songs - originally written in different periods of my life - grew into one concept album. It deals with depression, which has influenced my whole life in different ways. Starting off at a point where there's nothing to gain or to lose - on top of a bridge - it takes a look at the Ups and Downs of being human. As the journey dives deeper and deeper into my thoughts and feelings, it goes along despair and hope, belief and loss of faith, pain and redemption, meaning and vacuity, ignorance and passion, humor and hate, destruction and beauty. It's about the great and the trivial, the personal and the political questions of life and why we are asking them.


SONGS


00. What I'm living for (2009)

01. Waiting (2012-2013)

02. I fall (2011)

03. What do you want from me? (2013)

04. Why are you here? (2012)

05. Keep us away (2011)

06. A life to smile (2012)

07. Just another day (2009)

08. Sunken bridges (2012)

09. Fear & love (2013)

10. I hate (2007)

11. After the storm (2011)

12. Mist & black mud (2016)


Credits


All songs written and arranged by PR

Cello, keys, e-bass, percussion & vocals - PR

Drums - David Rittel

Recording, mixing & production - PR

Artwork - Sarah Ludes

 

Recorded and produced in Cologne & Bonn, 2015-2017

Release: Spring of 2017